Docs Menu

Docs HomeMongoDB Atlas

Manage Project Access

On this page

  • Create a Project
  • View Projects
  • Move a Project
  • Delete a Project

Groups are now projects in the organizations and projects hierarchy.

You can create multiple projects in an organization.

By having multiple projects within an organization, you can:

  • Isolate different environments (for instance, development/qa/prod environments) from each other.

  • Associate different users or teams with different environments, or give different permissions to users in different environments.

  • Maintain separate cluster security configurations. For example:

    • Create/manage different sets of database user credentials for each project.

    • Isolate networks in different VPCs.

  • Create different alert settings. For example, configure alerts for Production environments differently than Development environments.

To create a project for an organization, you must be either an Organization Owner or an Organization Project Creator.

When you create a project, you are added as an Project Owner for the project.

To view a project, you must either:

Important

Project Invitation Deprecation

The Atlas release on September 13, 2023 deprecates project invitations.

When you invite an organization member to projects within the organization, the user is automatically granted access to those projects and doesn't receive any invitations. When you invite a user to projects in an organization that the user doesn't belong to, the user receives a single invitation to the organization, which includes access to all of the projects that you grant them access to. Invitations expire after 30 days.

When you move a project to another Atlas organization, Atlas copies the project users and their respective roles to the same project in the destination organization. However, Atlas doesn't carryover teams assigned to the project because you define teams at the organization level.

When you move projects across organizations, your changes take effect immediately. The move doesn't:

  • Impact cluster uptime or current cluster configuration.

  • Cause downtime for your database deployment or changes to your connection string.

Important

Atlas removes existing API Keys after moving the Project. You must create a new API Key after moving the Project.

To move a project to another Atlas organization, you must be an Organization Owner for both the current and the destination organization.

To move a project for an organization:

1
  1. If it is not already displayed, select the organization that contains your desired project from the Organizations menu in the navigation bar.

  2. Click the Leaf icon in the upper left corner of the page. You can also expand the Projects menu in the navigation bar, then click View All Projects.

2

For the project you want to move:

  1. Click .

  2. Click Move Project.

The Move Project dialog appears.

3
4

Note

Billing a Moved Project

An Organization Owner of two different Organizations can move projects between those Organizations at any time. Usage in any particular project during any particular hour is accrued to the Organization under which the project was at that time.

Example

An Organization Owner owns the Telecomm and Storage Organizations in Atlas. They decide to move their Backup project from Telecomm to Storage at 11:40 am.

The Telecomm project is billed for the full 11:00 to 11:59 am hour. Storage starts getting billed at 12:00 pm.

Note

If you have a Backup Compliance Policy enabled, you can't delete the project if any snashots exist.

←  Manage Organization SettingsManage Access to a Project →
Share Feedback