On this page
In the organizations and projects hierarchy, an organization can contain multiple projects (previously referred to as groups). Under this structure:
Billing happens at the organization level while preserving visibility into usage in each project.
You can view all projects within an organization.
You can use teams to bulk assign organization users to projects within the organization.
When you create an organization, you are added as an
Organization Owner for the organization.
Don't include sensitive information in your organization name.
You have the option of adding a new Cloud Manager organization or a new Atlas organization. For more information on Cloud Manager see the documentation.
When you create a new organization with the Atlas UI, Atlas requires IP access lists for the Atlas Administration API by default. If you require an IP access list, your Atlas Administration API keys can make API requests only from the location-based IP or CIDR addresses that you specify in the IP access list.
To disable the IP access list requirement and allow your Atlas Administration API keys to make requests from any address on the internet, toggle Require IP Access List for the Atlas Administration API to OFF.
To learn more, see Optional: Require an IP Access List for the Atlas Administration API.
To leave an organization, at least another user must exist as an Owner for the organization.
You must have the
Organization Owner role for an
organization to rename it.
To delete an organization, you must have
Organization Owner role for the organization.
You can't delete an organization that has active projects. You must delete the organization's projects before you can delete the organization.
You can't delete an organization with outstanding payments. To learn more, see Troubleshoot Invoices and Payments.